MedTech Guidelines and an Unexpected Emergency

Hello All,

Week 2 has been a very interesting and exciting week. I still have loads of reading, but I am enjoying the pieces of information that I am pulling from the readings given to me. Being a part of an association/nonprofit that has guidelines and rules set is something new for me. Its kind of nice that that part of the organization’s strategy and structure is already completed and strong. Most other internships I have had have needed me to either create or improve upon a tentative structure the organization has tried to create for itself. So thank you MedTech Association for having that part of the work done for me.

I feel because of this, I can move onto new objectives and responsibilities while at MedTech and this excites me. I mentioned in many of my interviews for spring internships (when asked) that I truly wanted a rigorous and challenging internship that would give me more responsibility than I have had in the past and I really feel that MedTech was the perfect choice.

My favorite piece of reading so far would have to be the MedTech style guide. I have never seen one that is so comprehensive. Most people don’t notice on a daily basis that the brands they love use the same color schemes and have a template for every piece of outgoing communication, specifically so that potential customers can be familiar with the particular organization. MedTech has the color choices with codes and those are its colors, they have a specific way to place a header on letters, emails, envelopes, press release, etc. MedTech even has a style guide section for its website! The hardest part for me is going to be remembering all the rules they have put in place. I tend to be an extremely organized person ( if you don’t already know), so seeing such clean, crisp choices already made is a magnificent sight to see.

On my first full Friday, Jill ended up having an emergency and needed to leave early. Luckily I had some pieces of work I could finish, but it was interesting to be in the office with only one other person there. Usually when something like this has occurred at past internships, I have been allowed to go home early. I never wanted to, but it seemed like in those situations I never had a choice. I was so happy to see that Jill didn’t expect me to leave and trusted me to stay and continue working on my assignments. It may sound like a small thing, but I was very happy to see that I was trusted enough to stay behind.

Note: I happen to forget sometimes that I am a masters candidate. The amount of respect and expectations between May 2011 and when I started this program in July skyrocketed. I never imagined I would be held in such high esteem for where I am in my education.

Everything ended up being ok, but I don’t think I will be able to forget that day.

Let me take some time to explain the office atmosphere and culture. The MedTech office is made up of four employees (if you include me). I love how devoted both Jill, the Director of Marketing (my supervisor) and Emily, project coordinator are to their positions at MedTech. Fridays are casual unless a meeting or something important is going on. I usually wear my business clothes anyway. I don’t feel like I have earned the privilege yet. Heather Erickson is the president of MedTech. I have begun to think of her as a great role model. All three work very hard, but Heather is the main “face” of MedTech and has built a strong reputation for the organization and for herself.

Due to the nature of my previous internships working in an extremely small office does not phase me. I do look forward to eventually being in an atmosphere that has more people and is a little more chatty, but I enjoy that I can sit at my desk and get my work done without interruptions. I know that what I am looking forward to is probably a nightmare in some sense, but nonetheless, I hope to experience it at some point and be part of a fast-paced environment.

I am slowly learning that the goal to have Upstate New York become a hub for the Bio/Med industry is extremely important. The three full-time employees are all passionate about building the members base, networking the companies, and creating a mutually beneficial “web” of knowledge. It is inspiring to see diligence at its best.

I worried when I moved to Syracuse that not having any kind of cash flow would upset me. When at Curry College, I looked forward to receiving my weekly pay check to show myself that I had completed another week of work that was going to benefit me in the future. (It was also nice to have some cash). From May until January, I had nothing coming in because I jumped into continuing to be a full-time student. The opportunity that MedTech has given me by allowing me to receive a weekly check is amazing. I know it helps motivate me to do my best in order to receive the “reward”, if you will. Saving up to move to Boston can be an expensive thing, so I know this little bit of money will help in a very large way. The CASE Center at Syracuse University is an investor in MedTech and pays for an intern to be in MedTech’s office in order to have continued success with its mission. I also have to say that this is the most I have ever been paid as a hourly salary as well. Its nice to see an increase with the amount of expertise I am currently trying to build.

I have lots of weeks ahead of me in the MedTech office, but I am excited to see what is in store for me. Onto week 3!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “MedTech Guidelines and an Unexpected Emergency

  1. Hey Sofia – great blog post! Just wanted to let you know, the CASE Center manages the paperwork and payroll for MedTech’s interns, but we pay Syracuse University for your time! It does save us a lot of time, so we’re grateful to work with CASE at SU. 🙂

    • Jill,

      Thank you for this comment. I really am learning a lot at MedTech and its been a great topic to be able to write about on this blog.

      Hope you can continue to read my postings in the future. See you tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

